Jason Vieaux & Adam Barnett-Hart - Performances - Details

Jason Vieaux & Adam Barnett-HartOrder Tickets

Unlikely duoTuesday, September 24, 7:30 PM

Sonatas & tangos

Guitarist Jason Vieaux, the first classical musician to be featured on NPR’s “Tiny Desk” series, joins violinist Adam Barnett-Hart to open our 2019-20 MainStage season

The duo program includes selections from Jacques Ibert’s Histoires and Manuel de Falla’s Siete Canciones Populares Españolas, Handel’s Violin Sonata in D Major, J.S. Bach’s Fuga from Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Minor BWV 101, Barbara Kolb’s Umbrian Colors, Ysaÿe’s Sonata No. 5, Op. 27 for solo violin, and Piazzolla’s L’histoire du Tango.

NPR describes Grammy-winner Jason Vieaux as “perhaps the most precise and soulful classical guitarist of his generation.” Gramophone includes him “among the elite of today's classical guitarists.”

Among his acclaimed recordings is Images of Metheny, featuring music by American jazz legend Pat Metheny. After hearing it, Metheny declared: “I am flattered to be included in Jason's musical world.”

Adam Barnett-Hart is the founding first violinist of the Escher String Quartet. As a soloist, he made his debut performing the Brahms Concerto in Alice Tully Hall with the Juilliard Symphony in 2002.

  • Before the concert: Enjoy our intimate "Concert Conversation" with musicians Jason Vieaux and Adam Barnett-Hart. 6:30 p.m. in EJ's Flying Balcony. Easily accessed by elevator, the Flying Balcony offers comfortable seating and a cash bar.

EJ Thomas Performing Arts Hall

198 Hill Street, Akron, OH 44325

Map & Parking

Concert Tickets

Purchase tickets for this performance.

Season Subscriptions

Save up to 45% on single ticket prices. New MainStage subscribers save 50% on subscriptions!

Free Tickets for Students

Students can attend all concerts at no cost. Discounted seats are available for accompanying parents/adults.