Honors and elections - Media - Details

Honors and elections

Jun 19, 2018

Tuesday Musical, one of the oldest and largest organizations of its kind in the United States, presented awards to two Akron residents and elected new officers and board members for the coming year during its annual meeting on June 12.

Sue Reitz received the Lola Rothmann Volunteer Achievement Award and Natalie Miahky received the Cynthia Knight Patron Awards. Both awards recognize volunteers for longtime dedication to the organization.

Both Reitz and Miahky have served on Tuesday Musical’s board. Reitz helped Tuesday Musical with staff recruitment and procedures for many years, using the human resources expertise she gained while working at Akron Children’s Hospital. Miahky, who retired from the board this month, chaired the Student Vouchers Committee and oversaw Tuesday Musical’s program that provides free concert tickets to all students.

Tuesday Musical officers are President Paul Filon of Hudson, Vice President and President Elect Linda Liesem of Bath, Treasurer Stephannie Garrett of Akron, Secretary Marianne Miller of Massillon, and Governance Committee Chair Bob Fischer of Akron.

New board members are Garrett, Membership Chair Fred Specht of Akron, Student Vouchers Chair Maggie McClure of Akron, and at-large members Mike Magee of Akron, James Wilding of Hudson, and Paul Mucha of Stow.

Garrett is the controller for Klein’s Pharmacy and Orthopedic Appliances. She is a past treasurer for The Weathervane Playhouse, serves as the president for the Miller South Art Boosters and treasurer for the Gay Community Endowment Fund and has volunteered with other organizations such as Community Aids Network and Akron Pride Initiative (CANAPI), One of a Kind Pets, and the annual PorchRokr Music and Art Festival.

Dr. Specht is a geriatric medicine specialist in Akron. He graduated from Ohio State University College of Medicine and Public Health.

Magee is president of Akron Tool and Die. Before joining Akron Tool & Die in 1991, he worked in accounting and finance roles for Roadway Express of Akron and Roadway Package System (now part of FedEx) of Pittsburgh.

Wilding is professor of instruction and co-chair of composition and theory at The University of Akron School of Music, where he also directs the New Music Series. He studied at the University of Cape Town, Youngstown State University, and Kent State University.

Mucha is a CPA with Scoda Minotti and came to Tuesday Musical through BVU’s leadership program linking young professionals with not-for-profit boards. He attended Malone University.

Continuing board members are Cheryl Boigegrain of Tallmadge, Teresa Good of Silver Lake, Mary Jo Lockshin of Canton, and Akron residents Bobbie Eaton, Joy Hagelin, Cheryl Lyon, Charles Nelson and George Pope.

Founded in Akron in 1887, Tuesday Musical presents concerts by world-acclaimed classical musicians as well as education and community engagement programs and music scholarships. More about Tuesday Musical is at www.tuesdaymusical.org.