FUZE! A Tribute to Sarah Vaughan

Saturday March 17, 2018 7:30 pm
EJ Thomas Hall

Prime-seat subscriptions available.
Single tickets on sale February 8, 2018: $25 | $40 | $45
free for all students

Sassy’s unforgettable voice
Chicago Jazz Orchestra
Jeff Lindberg, conductor
Ann Hampton Callaway, vocals
Dee Alexander, vocals
René Marie, vocals

Chicago Jazz Orchestra Conductor and Artistic Director Jeff Lindberg leads his big band with strings and an all-star roster of talented vocalists to honor the great Sarah Vaughn.

Savor memorable Vaughan classics: "Send in the Clowns,” “Misty,” “Key Largo,” "How High The Moon,” "Until I Met You” and many more.

Nicknamed “Sassy” and “The Divine One,” Sarah Vaughan was a four-time Grammy winner, including a Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. The National Endowment for the Arts bestowed upon her its highest honor in jazz, the NEA Jazz Masters award, in 1989.

This concert is part of a yearlong celebration of The University of Akron Jazz Studies Program’s 40th anniversary and the Bittle Jazz Artist- in-Residence Series’ 15th anniversary. It is also part of The University of Akron’s Kulas Concert Series.